Home Page

School Council

Codnor Community Primary School

School Council


We have our own School Council, which includes children

from all year-groups from EYFS to Key Stage 2.


Councillors have specific responsibilities.

Our school council is made up of the following children and their roles:


Prime Minister

Elliot Godkin


Teaching & Learning Minister

Nellie Wood


Healthy Eating Ministers

Daniel Birkby

Max Penny


Friendship Ministers

Izzy Golisti

Kiera Murphy

Declan Smith


Environmental Minister

Jasmin Dawes

Freddie Pilgrim


Sports Ministers

Marnie Fox

Will Newton


Faith Minister

Jack Bonser

Leon Mugridge

Rohan Phillips


Equipment Minister

Amelia Guy


Outdoor Learning Ministers

Heather Cross

Cameron Mugridge

Ethan Spencer


Children take their School Council roles extremely seriously! They hold a 'cabinet' meeting on Friday afternoons with Mrs Day

our super HLTA to discuss any new ideas they may have. These meetings also give councillors the opportunity to raise any School Council concerns they have encountered and to discuss feedback from other children in school.


Our new School Council has just been formed so watch this space for ideas and topics that they will be discussing this year!


Every October, we hold a 'general election' to recruit new school council members, as Y6 councillors leave us at the end of the previous summer term. There's an official ballot box in school for nominations and voting, and our Vice Chair of Governors, Cllr Emmas-Williams, counts the votes and announces the elected members to children, staff and parents.


It's not easy to get elected! Candidates prepare presentations and speeches to convince their year-group that they're truly the right person to represent them in School Council meetings.


Cllr Emmas-Williams, counting the votes in the presence of children, parents and staff