Home Page


Early Years Foundation Stage



Children access a broad and balanced EYFS curriculum, which covers 7 areas of learning.  Within these areas of learning, there are three prime areas:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


and four specific areas:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The children have the opportunity to access all areas of learning through an indoor and outdoor learning environment on a daily basis.  Children are able to meet their learning potential through a balance of challenging child initiated and adult led activities.


Topics covered

The topics covered in EYFS are centred around the children's interests.  Each year we ask the children what they want to learn, and from this brainstorming our topics are developed.



Assessment in EYFS happens on a daily basis.  Children are formally assessed when they enter school in order for teachers to set challenging targets.  All children are assessed directly against the objectives from the EYFS curriculum through formal and informal written assessments and photographic evidence.  These assessments allow teachers to fully understand the abilities of the children in their class in order to maximise learning in a fun, yet challenging way.  Assessment in EYFS is essential to ensure we are able to individualise learning for every child.